#### MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

#### MINUTES (UNRESERVED)

# 2.00pm on Monday, 23 January 2023 Elton & Bowring Room, Old Court

**Present** (**Reserved**): Ms Loretta Minghella (Chair); Dr Andrew Carter; Miss Elizabeth Conder; Professor Maciej Dunajski; Professor Jonathan Goodman; Professor Sian Lazar; Professor Sarah Lockwood; Professor Fred Parker; Professor Oliver Shorttle; The Rev'd Dr Mark Smith; and Professor Jacqueline Tasioulas (Senior Tutor).

**Present (Unreserved)**: Ms Jasmin Bath (MCR President); and Mr Louis Bosnell (UCS representative.

**In Attendance**: Miss Emma Easterbrook (Secretary); Mr Zak Bakkali (President, Clare May Event 2023)

Computer Committee).

#### 2. **Declarations of Interest**

None.

#### 3. UNRESERVED

- (i) Minutes of 14 November 2022 and 21 November 2022 Approved.
- (ii) Matters Arising

None.

(iii) Clare May Event 2023: update.

The President of the Clare May Event 2023 presented an update to the proposal for the Clare May Event 2023, which had been presented to Council at its meeting on 14 November 2022. The Event will be held on Monday, 19 June 2023 with a capacity of 600 people. The President had consulted the UCS more widely on the type of event to be held, and will ensure that the event is accessible to all in terms of pricing. Tickets will cost £99.00 for members of Clare, and approximately £140.00 for guests. Priority for tickets will be given to those students in their final year at the College. The President will liaise with the Financial Tutor to ensure a method whereby students facing financial hardship (anticipated to be those on Cambridge

Bursaries or those who are self-funded graduate students) will be able to apply for an award of up to  $\pounds 50.00$ 

c. Library Committee 24 May 2022.

### (ix) Any Other Business

None.

#### 4. **RESERVED**

## 5. **Dates of Next Meetings**

All are at 2.00pm in the Elton and Bowring Room except when otherwise noted.

Monday, 27 February 2023

Wednesday, 14 June 2022

Tuesday, 2 May 2023

**Distribution** (**Reserved**): Ms Loretta Minghella (Chair); Professor Jason Carroll; Dr Andrew Carter; Miss Elizabeth Conder; Professor Maciej Dunajski; Professor Jonathan Goodman; Professor Sian Lazar; Professor Sarah Lockwood; Professor Fred Parker; Professor Oliver Shorttle; The Rev'd Dr Mark Smith; Professor Jacqueline Tasioulas (Senior Tutor); and the Governing Body.

**Distribution** (Unreserved): Ms Jasmin Bath (MCR President); and Mr Vithusan Kuganathan (UCS President).

In Attendance: Miss Emma Easterbrook (Secretary); Mr Zak Bakkali (President, Clare May Event 2023); Ms Jessica Crow (Legal Officer, Clare May Event 2023); and Professor Charlie Weiss (Chair, Computer Committee).

Emma Easterbrook 24 January 2023